Skip to Content
U.S. National Institutes of Health
Last Updated: 03/11/14

Biorepository and Biospecimen Research Branch (BBRB)

The Biorepositories & Biospecimen Research Branch (BBRB) develops biorepository standards and evidence based practices that promote resource sharing and biospecimen science, in order to facilitate development of evidence-based standards that will inform clinical cancer research.

  • Sponsors, conducts, and collaborates on studies to assess the effects of human specimen pre-analytical variables on the outcome of studies conducted for clinical diagnosis and research purposes.

  • Bridges the gap between existing clinical practice for biospecimens and emerging technologies for precision medicine;

  • Defines the most significant variables for prospective collection of tissues, blood, and bodily fluids;

  • Develops evidence-based biospecimen quality indicators for specific analytical platforms.

More information about the BBRB can be found here.

BBRB Staff:

Name Position Primary Email Phone
Helen Moore, Ph.D. Acting Branch Chief moorehe@mail.nih.gov (240) 276-5713
Lokesh Agrawal, Ph.D. Program Director lokesh.agrawal@nih.gov (240) 276-5718
Latarsha Carithers, Ph.D.  Program Manager latarsha.carithers@nih.gov (240) 276-5709
Ping Guan, Ph.D. Program Director ping.guan@nih.gov (240) 276-5711
Judy Keen, Ph.D. Program Manager judy.keen@nih.gov (240) 276-5736
Abhi Rao, Ph.D. Program Manager abhi.rao@nih.gov (240) 276-5718
Deborah Robinson, A.A.S. Administrative Support robindeb@mail.nih.gov (240) 276-5717
Philip Branton, M.D. (Kelly Contractor) Surgical Pathologist philip.branton@nih.gov (240) 276-5708
Benjamin Fombonne (Kelly Contractor) Scientific Program Analyst benjamin.fombonne@nih.gov (240) 276-5710
Hana Odeh, Ph.D. (Kelly Contractor) Project Manager hana.odeh@nih.gov (240) 276-5572

For All CDP Staff